Run When Chased

October 12, 2011

I have this fantasy.  I believe I can make it a reality but it will take a lot of work and self-control.  The latter I don’t have much of.  It’s this idea that you can have a baby and not even 6 months later, look normal again.  Not bloated, not 20 lbs heavier, but normal.  I’ve seen this happen.  I cannot tell you the jealousy I feel for women who have pictures with their infant and they’re wearing size 6 jeans.  I guess maybe I should start out as a size six and maybe getting back there would be simpler.  Just an idea.

Thirteen months after having my daughter I have finally started to run again.  Now, I don’t know if I can actually say “again” since my running life was a short 3 years.  Anyway, I have 10 lbs of baby weight left to lose and then 20 lbs of weight-that-should-have-been-lost-before-I-got-pregnant to lose.  I could probably stand to lose more than 30 lbs but BACK OFF, I’m trying.

Day one of running was pathetic.  Intermittent intervals of running and lots of walking.  I had on stupid shoes I thought would work and a small playlist of 10 songs.   I at least found out that my route is 1.5 miles long, give or take.

Over the weekend I readied myself to run in the park.  I got Nora and we headed off.  We were apparently a little late since it was overrun with ladies strolling and soccer kids marauding.  I attempted to use the C25K app I had downloaded on my phone but I am one of the few people that this program does not work for.  The shoes I thought would work turned out to be horrible (I had to take ibuprofen for two days my legs hurt so badly) and did I mention the hills?  Nora, ever the trooper, fell asleep during the ordeal.  We won’t even talk about Sunday.  Let’s just say 80 year olds walking their toy dogs lapped me.  Sigh. And did I mention the hills?

So, I sulk on Monday and then Tuesday it turns around. I traded out my shoes for an old pair of Asics I had from back-in-the-day and ran a different course.  Success!  I have no idea how to gauge this, whether it’s a good distance or not, but I think I ran about ½ a mile solid, which may be quite pathetic but it made me happy.  It was what I needed to keep at this.

I am hoping this will stick and by the time we’re ready for Baby #2 my fantasy of zipping up non-maternity pants before my child reaches high school may come true.

One Response to “Run When Chased”

  1. Quelle Belle Says:

    I’m glad your 1/2 mile run gave you the boost you needed. Don’t forget – the last time you ran, you were not running with a heavy stroller & a 20 lb (or whatever) toddler! That makes a huge difference.


Leave a Reply

